If you have a personal Google+ account or you manage a Google+ page, you may have heard that the service will be terminated on April 2, 2019.
The internet giant has announced that from as early as February 4 users will no longer be able to create new Google + profiles, pages, communities or events.
Google confirmed in an email newsletter sent out late last week the decision, taken in December last year, was due to “low usage and challenges involved in maintaining a successful product that meets consumers’ expectations.”
It says that from From April 2 it will begin deleting content from consumer Google+ accounts.
This includes photos and videos in the album archive. Photos and videos backed up to Google Photos, however, will not be deleted.
It is recommended that you download and save your content before April.
You can do this as many times as you need to before the shut-off date.
If you have a Google+ link from your website, this should also be removed as it will become a broken link, which may have SEO implications.
Google says the process of deleting content from consumer Google+ accounts, Google+ Pages and the album archive will take a few months, and content may remain throughout this period.
For example, users may still see parts of their Google+ account via the activity log, and some consumer Google+ content may still be able to be seen to G Suite users until consumer Google+ has been deleted.
Comments and sign-ins
If you use Google’s myriad other services, your access to these will not be affected by the Google+ shutdown.
The Google+ Sign-In button will stop working by 7 March, with intermittent failures having already started from 28 January.
Google says that on some sites, the Google+ Sign-In button may be replaced by a Google Sign-In button.
You will still be able to sign in with your Google Account wherever you see Google Sign-In buttons.
If you've used Google+ for comments on your own or other sites, this feature will be removed from Blogger by February 4 and other sites by March 7.
All your Google+ comments on all sites will be deleted starting April 2.